Re-Up

This is like seeing an old friend again after some time apart, for me at least.

So I had a lot of fun with this blog when I wrote it this past summer. Some of you were kind enough to say nice things to my face about the experiment. How sincere you were, I’m not sure, but I like to think you were all glowingly truthful. I wanted to start this thing back up. I always have things to write. This blog is a bit different now, though.

I’m free from that project from last summer, meaning I can write about whatever I want. A lot of topics will still probably have a religious tinge, but some may touch on literature, life, love (of which I know nothing), probably something else that starts with the letter L, cinema, music, or whatever else I feel like writing. Articles can also be longer now, meaning I have more of a chance to actually write something of consequence. I’m talking 1,000 to 2,000 words…or more. If, upon reading that, you just threw up your hands and said, “Forget that,” my response is, “Weak.”

I also don’t have to write under Harding’s gaze anymore—free from any sort of legalistic dictum. Harding is very sensitive when religious opinions issued out from their arena do not coincide with what their donor’s wallets believe (technically my summer project was under the Harding name). So now I can say whatever I want, right?

No, because this is still a place for respectful dialogue, and I will still hold comments to that standard. If you are rude, nasty, or altogether a schmuck when you reply to something I write, I will promptly delete it, but not before I cut and paste it into a Word document aptly titled “Nasty Things People Have Said to Me.”

Also, there won’t be any regularity to my posting articles. I’m about to graduate, so between now and May 8 (cue “Pomp and Circumstance”), I’m really busy. And it’s up to you to decide to come back here. I don’t want to have to remind people to visit; I’d much rather have you actually desire to come back and visit of your own volition. I realize that demands a higher quality of writing from me. So be it.

Quick forewarning: I’m not a real sensitive person. I am blunt. Plus, my writing here is not polished. Therefore, you get the real me in written form. I’m imperfect, and to put on a horse-and-pony show of having it all together is more disturbing than just being flat-out honest. Even though people like façades, I’m tired of them; perpetuating a shroud of a lie that aims to preserve shallowness is too cumbersome for me and for you. Please…we’re better than that.

That’s all I can think to say right now. Articles will be coming soon, first of which will be a personal manifesto of sorts that is always being edited, deconstructed, rebuilt, set on fire, hosed down, added to, and whittled. As always, if you actually take the time to read this, well…I’m humbled. And I mean that. Your interest means more to me than my words could ever express

Much love.

Leave a Reply

