Enhancing My List

I’ve been thinking about goals a lot, and about six or so years ago I made a list of twenty-five I wanted to accomplish. Since then, I’ve crossed off about half of them, and I’m trying to figure out what to put in their place now. Not because it’s almost New Year’s. Nothing like that. I just feel the need to restock the list.

Take voice lessons.
I really love to sing. I have a decent voice, but it could be better. I want to increase its strength as well as its range. If I could reach a few whole steps lower and a few whole steps higher, that would be amazing. Right now there are so many songs just a hair out of my grasp (I can nail them by going into my falsetto, but who wants to do that?).

Buy a legitimate keyboard.
Now that I no longer live at home or go to a school where there are pianos amply available to my fingertips, I hardly ever play. It’s like a piece of my soul has been cut off. But keyboards are expensive, and I don’t work at a job where I make enough money to put aside for savings, so this goal may be way down the road. But I shall work towards it nonetheless.

I want to have kids.
The more I ruminate on the concept of leaving a legacy, I’m convinced this is the only way to do it. One hundred years from now, nobody will remember me, just like I know nothing about my great-grandfather. Come to think of it, I have no clue what his name was. But whether or not I am privy to his nomenclature doesn’t change the fact that part of him is in me. Because a portion of the things he was passionate about were instilled into his son, which were handed down to my father, which have somehow been transmitted to me. I have no idea what was important to my great-grandfather, but through the right of inheritance and generational transmission of ideals, he lives on in me. (Rafiki was spot on in The Lion King.) I could write tons of books one day, and it wouldn’t mean anything. My legacy will live on in relationship. My child will be the person I have the greatest influence on, and he will then touch the world, just as I am affecting the globe for my father’s father’s father.

I want to become serious about doing Pilates.
This is very easily available for me to do. My mom sent me a Pilates book in the mail. My mom is cooler than all of yours. Don’t be angry.

I still really want to travel around China for a while.
I’ve heard it’s really big.

I would like to teach high school English.
I have no timetable in terms of how long I want to do that, but I’d at least like to try it for a while. I love high schoolers, seem to connect with them for whatever reason, and have a passion for literature as well. And people keep telling me I’d be good at teaching. I suppose the sum total of teaching high school English is somewhat logical. I applied to this group called Nashville Teaching Fellows. It’s essentially a Teach for America group just for Music City (because the schools here are so horrible). They accept less than ten percent of all applicants, but I guess it’s worth a shot. We’ll see.

I think that’s all for now. More will come later, I’m sure.

Much love.

Leave a Reply

